Event Experience

Standard

Hello fellow bloggers.  This blog is designed to help assist those who have no event planning experience.  My name is Emily Flint and as a young 21 year old woman, I consider my-self an expert in event planning.  I have experience in planning multiple well attended events.  Of course, I am not perfect but I am here to share what event planning skills and tools that I learned through my experiences.

As a sister of Kappa Delta sorority, I have had the opportunity to plan multiple events serving as the philanthropy chair.  I have planned the Miss Longwood Pageant for the past two years and I am currently working on the event plans for this years pageant.  This fall I planned a “Run with the Cops” event, a two mile run around campus which raised money for Prince Edward Farmville Youth Association (PEFYA).

Through my event planning experience in my sorority I was selected for an event planning internship with the USO, a non-profit organization that lifts the spirits of military members and their families through events and support programs.  This summer I worked on three different events: a 4th of July picnic, a 5K race, and a military expo at the 2011 Nascar Kroger 200 race.  All of these events had over 1,000 people in attendance which was a great learning opportunity for me.

Through my sorority and internship I would say that I have learned a lot about event planning and want to share my experiences and advice with all of you!

2 responses »

  1. I think you definitely show your readers that you have the experience to be teaching them about this subject. I can’t wait to learn more about event planning from someone who has a lot of experience in different kinds of organizations in very different communities.

Leave a Reply

